The Landscape iPhoneography Process: Day’s End Palenville

DaysEnd_BeforeAfter

Since I’ve been sharing and exhibiting my landscape iPhoneography, I get many questions about my process and work flow. In this post, I’ll share with you how I captured and edited my most recent image, Day’s End, Palenville

This week I’m staying in Palenville, New York to work on a new series of images inspired by the Hudson River School painters. Palenville is located in the Catskills, and was an important center of the Hudson River school of the 19th century. Thomas ColeFrederic Church, and other notable painters stayed and worked in Palenville during the height of the movement.

As I was heading out of Palenville for a late dinner, I couldn’t resist stopping to capture the last rays of light over Kaatskill Creek. The light was fading fast, so I opted to use ProCamera + HDR to capture the image using the VividHDR mode. VividHDR’s intelligent algorithms analyze the light and gives you the best exposures to capture details accurately in both the highlight and shadow areas.

IMG_3404

Because my images are inspired by landscape painting, I consider my initial image capture as a jumping off point for further expression.

Next, I used Snapseed to fine-tune the image. This powerful, free app is where I usually start when I need to fine-tune and make exposure adjustments to my images. Although the overall exposure was good, I used a light touch with the HDRscape filter to make the rays of light and clouds more prominent.

IMG_2089

I was now ready to do some creative post-processing to fully express this landscape. My choice for creative post-processing was Stackables; an advanced and comprehensive effects layering and blending app, with over 200 effects and textures, plus 20 professional adjustment tools. Stackables’ layers-based architecture and nondestructive workflow encourage experimentation and creativity. With Stackables you can save your edits as formulas and never lose a custom edit you created. I’ve saved many custom edits that can be applied to future images.

IMG_2088

Would you like to learn more? Learn more at the online iPhone Photography and Photo Editing workshops that I’m teaching on Sunday August 7th and Sunday August 14th from 9AM-12noon EST. Spots are limited, so please visit my website to register today!

img_2081-1

One thought on “The Landscape iPhoneography Process: Day’s End Palenville

Leave a Reply

